Ben & Jerry’s Vegan Non-Dairy Ice Cream {Flavors & Guide}

Wondering which Ben and Jerry's flavors are vegan? The options of creamy, dreamy dairy-free delights are expanding and there are now more flavors than ever that are vegan! Here's the full scoop!
post featured image
A pint of vegan Ben & Jerry's plant-based ice cream.
This post may contain affiliate links, which means that I make a small commission off items you purchase at no additional cost to you. Please read my policy page.

Do you dream of dairy-free ice cream? We certainly do! Luckily, there are more and more vegan-friendly flavors and individual ice cream shops popping up every day. With that in mind, we hope our Ben and Jerry’s vegan guide will inspire you to go out and grab a non-dairy cone (or pick up a pint) today!

When you think of this Vermont-based ice cream duo, you may have been deterred by all the dairy. But, since 2016, Ben & Jerry’s has been serving up scoops of scrumptious ice cream completely free of dairy! With an alluring oat milk base, they’ve added gobs of gooey ingredients such as caramel, chocolate, cookies, crackers, and even candy that are plant-based and positively pleasure-inducing.

What are you waiting for? Start skimming this guide for all the dairy-free, ice cream goodness so you can go and get yourself a sweet snack. Vegan ice cream is our one and cone-ly.

Ben & Jerry's vegan cover art.

About Ben & Jerry’s Non-Dairy Ingredients

It’s nice to know that Ben & Jerry’s is not only interested in adding plant-based options, but is also thinking of other important-to-the-planet topics like these:

  • Fairtrade Certified – Including ingredients such as sugar cocoa, vanilla, coffee, and bananas.
  • Non-GMO Sourced – All ingredients are free of GMOs.
  • Certified Vegan – Their frozen desserts do not contain any eggs, honey, or dairy.
  • Previously made with Almond Milk and Sunflower Butter, they’re now switching over to Oat Milk for a richer, creamier experience.
dairy free phish food ice cream container ben and jerrys

Ben & Jerry’s Dairy-Free Pint Flavors

These are the current Ben & Jerry’s vegan-friendly pints. Some may stay and some may go, but there’s so many delicious selections to decide upon—a dairy-free ice-cream dream! All will soon be updated with a creamy oat milk base, but some are still available with almond milk or sunflower butter bases. (GF = gluten free)

Ben & Jerry’s Vegan Oat Milk Flavors

  • Strawberry Cheezecake – strawberry cheesecake with thick swirls of graham crackers
  • Cherry Garcia (GF) – cherry with cherries and fudge flakes
  • Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough – vanilla with chocolate chip cookie dough and fudge flakes
  • Chocolate Fudge Brownie – chocolate with fudge brownies
  • Netflix & Chilll’d – peanut butter with sweet & salty pretzel swirls and fudge brownies
  • P.B. & Cookies – vanilla with chocolate sandwich cookies and crunchy peanut butter swirls
  • Peanut Butter Half Baked – chocolate and peanut butter with fudge brownies and peanut butter cookie dough
  • Phish Food (GF) – chocolate with marshmallow swirls, caramel swirls and fudge fish

Sunflower Butter Ice Creams

  • Colin Kaepernick’s Change the Whirled – caramel with fudge chips, graham cracker and chocolate cookie swirls
  • Mint Chocolate Chance – mint with fudge brownie pieces
  • Creme Brulee Cookie – burnt caramel with brown sugar cookies and salted caramel swirls
  • “Milk” and Cookies – vanilla with chocolate chip cookies, chocolate sandwich cookies, and chocolate cookie swirls
  • Mint Chocolate Cookie – mint with chocolate sandwich cookies
  • Oatmeal Dream Pie (GF) – oatmeal cream pie with oatmeal cookies and marshmallow swirls
  • Bananas Foster (GF) – banana and cinnamon with almond toffee pieces and salted caramel core
vegan ben and jerrys tonight dough netflix and chilled and phish food ice creams

Ben and Jerry’s Almond Milk Base Pints

  • Americone Dream – vanilla with fudge-covered waffle cone pieces and caramel swirl
  • Cherry Garcia (GF) – cherry with cherries and fudge flakes
  • Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough – vanilla with chocolate chip cookie dough and fudge flakes
  • Chocolate Fudge Brownie – chocolate with fudge brownies
  • Coconut Seven Layer Bar – coconut with fudge chunks, walnuts, and graham cracker and caramel swirls
  • Lights! Caramel! Action! – vanilla with salted caramel swirls, graham cracker swirls, and chocolate chip cookie dough
  • Karamel Sutra Core (GF) – chocolate and caramel with fudge chips and a soft caramel core
  • Netflix & Chill’d – peanut butter with sweet & salty pretzel swirls and fudge brownies
  • P.B & Cookies – vanilla with chocolate sandwich cookies and crunchy peanut butter swirls
  • Peanut Butter Half Bakedchocolate and peanut butter with fudge brownies and peanut butter cookie dough
  • Phish Food (GF) – chocolate with marshmallow swirls, caramel swirls and fudge fish
  • The Tonight Dough – caramel and chocolate with chocolate cookie swirls, chocolate chip cookie dough and peanut butter cookie dough
  • Boom Chocolatta (GF) – mocha and caramel with fudge flakes and gluten-free chocolate cookies and cookie core

What’s on the Ben & Jerry’s Scoop Shop Menu?

Choices can be overwhelming when you first walk up to the ice cream counter, so reading through this guide first (and even having it open on your phone) will help a good deal. Before you head into line, think about what you’re in the mood for––a small cone? A smoothie? Or a pint to take home? Be clear in your mind first so that ordering can be a breeze!

Here’s what we suggest:

  • Scoop – Choose from the plant-based, scoop shop flavors below. You can choose at least 3 different flavors in one cone, if you wish.
  • Smoothie – Ask the server to blend up a bit of almond milk with a couple of scoops of dairy-free ice cream (or sorbet) for a simple and scrumptious smoothie.
  • Non-Dairy Pints – Head to the refrigerator and let your hunger decide which flavors will follow you home.

Note: If you’re gluten-sensitive, here is a list of their Certified Gluten-Free Flavors. Gluten-free flavors are not necessarily dairy-free. Look at the label carefully before purchasing. We’ve indicated the gluten-free flavors (GF) below.

Ben & Jerry’s Scoop Shop Specialty Vegan Flavors

When you visit a Ben & Jerry’s Scoop Shop, here are a few of the dairy-free options to consider:

  • Strawberry Cheezecake – strawberry cheesecake with thick graham cracker swirls
  • Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough – vanilla with chocolate chip cookie dough and fudge flakes
  • Colin Kaepernick’s Change the Whirled – caramel with fudge chips, graham cracker and chocolate cookie swirls
  • Strawberry Marshmallow – strawberry with strawberry and marshmallow swirls (yup it’s vegan!)
  • Lemonade Sorbet – lemon fruit sorbet
  • Berry Berry Extraordinary Sorbet – swirls of blueberry and raspberry fruit sorbet

Note: Keep in mind that they vary by location and you should always call first to double check.

Dairy-Free Sweet Sorbet Smoothies

Along with their dairy-free ice cream choices, you can also select one of two sorbet flavors (Berry Berry Extraordinary or Lemonade) or a sorbet smoothie to savor. The sorbet smoothies are a scoop of sorbet and fresh or frozen fruit blended with a bit of juice. A refreshing option when you’d like something frosty and fabulous!

  • Berry Mango (berry berry extraordinary sorbet, white grape juice, mango)
  • Berry Nice (berry berry extraordinary sorbet, pomegranate-blueberry juice, strawberries, banana)
  • Mango Lemonade (lemonade sorbet, lemonade, mango)
  • Queen of Tarts (lemonade sorbet, cranberry juice, raspberries)
  • Strawberry Lemonade (lemonade sorbet, lemonade, strawberries)

Tips For Choosing Tasty Vegan Toppings at Ben and Jerry’s

While there is not definitive list on what toppings each Scoop Shop offers and whether or not they are vegan, here are a few tips on how to choose plant-based toppings.

  • Quiz The Cashier – Simply ask which toppings are vegan-friendly for the day. The topping offering might actually change from day to day, so it always makes sense to ask.
  • Fresh Fruit First – It should be pretty easy to choose fruit to add to your dairy-free ice cream. They usually offer at least a few fruits to choose from such as berries or even dried fruit like bananas, pineapples, or apple bits.
  • Consult Our Candy Guide – If there are candy bits in the bunch, check out our vegan candy guide to see if that particular favorite is one of the safe suggestions.
  • Go Nuts Over Nuts – As long as the nuts are not roasted with honey (see our “Is Honey Vegan?” guide), you should be safe. Again, it makes sense to double-check with the server. But, nuts (like peanuts, cashews, walnuts, and macadamias) are a good choice.
  • Be Careful Of Cookies – Not all cookies and snack-like toppings will be vegan. Marshmallows are usually not vegan (containing gelatin) and many cookies contain eggs and dairy. Do yourself a favor and ask first.

Almond Milk Shakes

If your local Ben & Jerry’s Scoop Shop has almond milk on hand, ask them if they’ll whip up a super creamy smoothie for you using almond milk and one of their dairy-free ice cream flavors. Simple, sweet, and satisfying!

Ben & Jerry’s Vegan Ice Cream Cakes

Although not offered at all locations, many participating Scoop Shops offer vegan-friendly ice cream cakes using their dairy-free ice cream, vegan frosting, and ask for chocolate sandwich cookie crumbles. Make sure they leave out any dairy or egg-based fillings.

But don’t worry, if you can’t find one in the shop you can make your own easy vegan ice cream cake (this recipe is EPIC). Just pick up some pints of your favorite vegan ice cream, a bag of accidentally-vegan Oreos, some plant-based butter, peanuts, and a springform pan and you’re in business. This will be the easiest (and best tasting) cake you’ve ever made, we guarantee it!

best easy vegan ice cream cake recipe

Yes! They sell vegan chocolate chip cookie dough chunks in sealable bags in the freezer section. Make sure you choose the ones clearly labeled “vegan.” They also offer a non-vegan cookie dough, as well, so just be careful when you grab a bag. A gluten-free option might be a good option for Ben & Jerry’s to offer in the future.

FAQs About Ben & Jerry’s Vegan Ice Cream Options

Are any Ben and Jerry’s cones vegan?

The sugar and cake (aka wafer) cones at Ben & Jerry’s are vegan. They are not able to 100% confirm that they are made of sugar that is free of bone char, but they do claim that these cones are vegan-friendly. The waffle cones contain animal products, so they are not vegan.

Is the chocolate syrup at Ben and Jerry’s vegan?

Yup! We’re happy to say that you can add all of the chocolate syrup you want on your frozen dessert. Yay!

What is Ben and Jerry’s vegan ice cream made of?

At the moment, the basis of their dairy-free ice cream is almond milk but they are switching over all non-dairy flavors to oat milk in 2024. They do not use honey, eggs, or dairy in any of their vegan-friendly flavors.

How many vegan flavors does Ben and Jerry’s have?

As of March 2024, there are 20 dairy-free ice cream pint flavors. Yay! But, make sure to check here for more details. Ben & Jerry’s tends to add or discontinue flavors at least once a year.

Is dairy-free Ben and Jerry’s vegan?

It certainly is! Even their added chocolate chunks and nut butters are vegan-friendly. Woo!

Helpful Tips for Ordering at Ben & Jerrys

Here are a few things that might trip you up if you’re ordering at Ben & Jerry’s or buying a pint from the store to take home:

  • Be Sure You’re Choosing Dairy-Free – Though the pints are labeled properly, it can be simple to accidentally choose the dairy-full instead of the dairy-free option. The logos for the flavors are very similar.
  • Careful of Candy and Toppings – When you’re at a Scoop Shop, keep in mind that at least some of the options are not vegan (such as sprinkles). If you’re not wanting to look it up on our candy guide, try to stick with fresh fruit, nuts, and chocolate sauce. Simply asking can make things easier, too.
  • Cone Conundrum – While the sugar and cake (or wafer) cones are vegan-friendly, the waffle cones are not. They are made with animal products, so stay clear.

When you’re ordering at the Ben and Jerry’s store:

  • Browse the Ben & Jerry’s menu before ordering.
  • If ordering Ben & Jerry’s online or through a delivery service, make sure you clearly specify any substitutions you would like. If you’re worried that your request may not be honored (or seen by the server at Ben & Jerry’s), it might be a better idea to go there directly to order.
  • Though this company does not have a specific Nutritional, Allergen or Ingredient Information pages to browse, you can click on whichever ice cream you are interested in and it will display the nutrition and ingredient information right under the photo. The menu items offered at Ben & Jerry’s do seem to change pretty often, so you may want to double check before you visit.
  • Be careful when new and exciting seasonal products are offered at Ben & Jerry’s. Double-check the allergens and ingredients to make sure the item is vegan before purchasing.

Creating a Kinder and More Accessible Ben & Jerry’s Vegan Experience 

Even though Ben & Jerry’s has a small selection of vegan-friendly ice cream options on their menu, we think they could add a few more flavors. Since there are aren’t many fully vegan or dairy-free dessert spots to choose from, let’s hope that they continue add more options and even using different plant-based milks. Imagine all of the tasty toppings they could include – like chocolate or rainbow sprinkles, vegan marshmallows, and dairy-free whipped cream. In the meantime, we can always write to, call, or contact the managers of any location to make our requests.

What are your favorite items on the Ben & Jerry’s vegan menu? Let us know on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram!

Top photo credit: Ben & Jerry’s

Deliciously Dairy-Free Ice Cream Recipes

Don’t have access to Ben & Jerry’s vegan ice cream, or just want to try your hand at making your own? Here are some of our favorite recipes:

Homemade Matcha Ice Cream With Coconut Milk and Chocolate Chips

How To Order Vegan Desserts at Other Chains

This article is not sponsored and we are in no way affiliated with Ben & Jerry’s. At the time of this article, the menu items mentioned above are vegan. Since restaurants constantly update their menus and add or take away items, please keep this in mind when ordering your food. There may be new items that are vegan at Ben & Jerry’s and not listed or items listed here as vegan, which are no longer vegan. Take care to double-check.

newsletter offer

Get Our FREE Vegan Shopping List

Whether you love it or hate it, we all have to go grocery shopping, and it can be a little intimidating when you first start eating vegan. Our beginner-friendly shopping list includes all the grocery essentials you'll need make many satisfying vegan meals! You'll also receive a blank shopping list you can customize yourself, plus our weekly e-newsletter with delicious plant-based recipes.

Thank you for subscribing!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 comments
  1. The dairy free options are so good!

  2. Andrea White says:

    the netflix and chilled one is my favorite! so so good! thanks for this guide. i have lots more to try out now!

  3. Love this guide! My favorite indulgent dessert is The Tonight Dough … so rich, chocolate-ly and delicious!

  4. Ben and Jerry’s is always my go-to when I’m craving some vegan ice cream! I love the PB&Cookies flavor!

  5. I’m soooooo excited they launched a Ben & Jerry’s vegan fish food ice cream! That was my fave as a kid. So cool seeing the dairy free ice cream world explode.

Stay Inspired!

Thank you for subscribing!