The Ultimate Vegan Starbucks Drinks & Food Guide

This is the ultimate guide to ordering vegan at Starbucks! With our handy-dandy guide to vegan Starbucks drinks and belly-filling food and snack options, you can stride into a Starbucks cafe with confidence and leave with plant-based satisfaction.
post featured image
Starbucks oatmilk launch with Oatly
This post may contain affiliate links, which means that I make a small commission off items you purchase at no additional cost to you. Please read my policy page.

Coffee time is the best time, don’t you agree? Taking a coffee (or tea) break is synonymous with relaxation, but it’s also awesome for promoting productivity. There’s a good reason why there’s a coffeeshop on almost every corner. If you’re looking to fuel up, the first step is to find out what’s vegan at Starbucks.

Whether it’s a super small, hole-in-the-wall Starbucks or the biggest, baddest Starbucks your eyes have ever encountered, you’ll need a game plan. The options can be overwhelming at first (no matter which location you visit), so this guide will be your best friend.

With our Starbucks vegan handbook, it’s possible you’ll discover delightful hot and cold drinks you’ve never heard of and learn tips and tricks that will get you the best beverages and the tastiest snacks, all without dairy or animal products. Let’s get started!

For more ways to order vegan at coffee shops check out our guides to ordering vegan at Peet’s Coffee, Dunkin Donuts, Einstein Bros Bagels, Krispy Kreme, McDonald’s, and Panera Bread. And, if you’re dying for a satisfying swirl of coffee creamer in your favorite caffeinated beverage, you’ll love this vegan hazelnut coffee creamer recipe!

Woman with a vegan ring holding up a dairy-free Starbucks coffee drink that is brown on top and white on the bottom.

How To Order Dairy Free at Starbucks

Did you know that you can order (almost) anything at Starbucks vegan? Here’s how to hack the Starbucks menu so you can ace your next road trip and order like a vegan boss when visiting the biggest coffeehouse chain in the world. 

When you follow the steps below, you can order all your favorite beverages in a way that’s animal friendly, kinder to our planet, healthier for your body, and still tastes great. It’s a win-win-win. So why not make your next Starbucks order vegan? 

Step One: Plant-Based Milk Swap

Just ask your barista to replace dairy milk with soy milk, almond milk, coconut milk or oat milk.

Step Two: Leave Out the Animal Products

If ordering drinks, let them know you’re vegan and ask for no dairy. If ordering food, request no cheese, no egg, and no meat.

Step Three: Say No to Beverage Boosts

For beverages, hold the following non-vegan ingredients:

  • Caramel Drizzle (caramel syrup is vegan)
  • Cinnamon Dulce Topping (contains butter)
  • Java Chips (in certain Frappuccinos)
  • Protein Powder (in smoothies)
  • Pumpkin Spice Sauce
  • Whipped Cream

It’s as easy as that! You can always just ask your barista to make your drink vegan (without dairy, honey, or other animal products), but the steps above will give you an idea about what to look out for. 

Two hands each holding a plastic cup of Starbucks Iced Apple Crisp Oatmilk Macchiatos outside on a fall day with leaves in the background.
Limited Edition Autumn 2022 Favorite: Starbucks Iced Apple Crisp Oatmilk Macchiato (Source: @starbucks on Instagram)

Best Starbucks Vegan Drinks

The beverage list for Starbucks is impressive—there is a lot to choose from! Below you’ll find a list of the best vegan drinks options at Starbucks in each category—and how to order them if modifications are needed. Whether you’re searching for hot coffee drinks, teas, creamy lattes, zesty lemonades, or vegan Starbucks frappuccinos, you can get it all (and more) vegan.

Vegan Hot Coffee Drinks

For either hot or iced coffee beverages, ask for a plant-based milk (almond, coconut, oat, or soy) and cane sugar to be used, if you want a creamy or sweet addition. You may wish to take notes or order online before you go to because there are just so many choices to consider.

  • Americano – Espresso topped with hot water.
  • Brewed Coffees – Blonde Roast, Decaf Pike Place, Pike Place, or Veranda Blend
  • Café Latte
  • Caffe Mocha – Ask for no whipped cream.
  • Cappuccino
  • Caramel Macchiato – Substitute caramel syrup for caramel sauce.
  • Cinnamon Dolce Latte – Ask for no whipped cream or cinnamon dolce topping
  • Espresso
  • Espresso Macchiato
  • Flat White
  • Peppermint Mocha Latte – Order with no whipped cream or dark chocolate curls.
  • Starbucks Reserve Latte
  • Starbucks Blonde Vanilla Latte

Iced Coffee Drinks

  • Iced Coffee
  • Cold Brew
  • Iced Caffe Americano – ice, water, brewed espresso
  • Espresso or Shaken Espresso Iced
  • Iced Caffe Latte
  • Iced Cinnamon Dolce Latte – Ask for no whipped cream or cinnamon dolce topping.
  • Blonde Vanilla Latte Iced
  • Iced Caramel Macchiato – Ask to substitute caramel syrup for caramel sauce.
  • Caffe Mocha Iced – Order with no whipped cream.
  • Iced Peppermint Mocha – Request no whipped cream or dark chocolate curls.

Already Vegan Iced Coffee Options

  • Brown Sugar Oatmilk Shaken Espresso
  • Chocolate Almondmilk Shaken Espresso
  • Toasted Vanilla Oatmilk Shaken Espresso

Vegan-Friendly Holiday Starbucks Drinks

While these are only available seasonally, many of them are dairy-free and vegan-by-default!

  • Oleato Gingerbread Oatmilk Latte
  • Sugar Cookie Almondmilk Latte
  • Apple Crisp Oatmilk Macchiato
  • Chestnut Praline Latte – Ask for non-dairy milk and no whipped cream
starbucks vegan drink order Iced Toasted Vanilla Oatmilk Shaken Espresso​
Iced Toasted Vanilla Oatmilk Shaken Espresso (Source: @starbucks on Instagram)​

Tea Drinks at Starbucks

If you like your tea with milk and sweetener, ask for a plant-based milk (almond, coconut, oat, or soy) and cane sugar to be used.

  • Chai
  • Earl Grey
  • Emperor’s Clouds & Mist
  • Jade Citrus Mint
  • Royal English Breakfast

Hot Tea Lattes

Request non-dairy milk to be used in these lattes.

  • London Fog Tea Latte
  • Matcha Tea Latte
  • Royal English Breakfast Tea Latte

Caffeine-Free Hot Teas and Beverages

  • Cinnamon Dolce Crème – Substitute with non-dairy milk and ask for no whipped cream or cinnamon dolce topping.
  • Hot Apple Juice – Request steamed.
  • Hot Chocolate – Ask for a plant-based milk and no whipped cream.
  • Mint Majesty Tea – Herbal tea
  • Peach Tranquility Tea – Herbal tea
  • Peppermint Hot Chocolate – Order with your choice of non-dairy milk and no whipped cream or dark chocolate curls.
  • Vanilla Creme – Choose a non-dairy milk and ask for no whipped cream.

Iced Teas at Starbucks

For all of these iced teas options, you may wish to choose the cane sugar as a sweetener and/or a non-dairy milk of your choice. Finally, bottled teas (like Teavana Black or Green) are sometimes offered (depending on location) because they’re a good to-go option.

  • Iced Teas – Black, Green, London Fog, Matcha, Passion Tango, and Peach Green
  • Cold Tea Lattes – London Fog and Matcha
  • Iced Tea Lemonades – Black, Green, Matcha, Passion Tango, Peach Green

Caffeine-Free Iced Teas

  • Iced Teas – Passion Tango
  • Iced Tea Lemonades – Passion Tango
A clear plastic cup with Starbucks symbol filled with Iced Sugar Cookie Almondmilk Latte on top of a pile of white iced sugar cookies.
Winter 2022 Limited Edition – Starbucks Iced Sugar Cookie Almondmilk Latte (Source: @starbucks on Instagram)

Fruity Beverages

  • Lemonades – Kiwi Starfruit, Mango Dragonfruit, Strawberry Acai, and Plain Lemon
  • Fruity Drinks – Kiwi Starfruit, Mango Dragonfruit, and Strawberry Acai
Mango Dragonfruit Starbucks Refreshers Drink
Mango Dragonfruit Starbucks Refreshers Drink (Source: @Starbucks on Instagram)

Vegan Starbucks Frappuccinos

For every one of these creamy, dreamy frappuccinos, remember to ask for non-dairy milk and no whipped cream (until they start offering an oat or coconut whipped cream).

  • Mocha Frappuccino
  • Caffe Vanilla Frappuccino
  • Strawberry Creme Frappuccino
  • Matcha Creme Frappuccino

Specialty Vegan Drinks at Starbucks

These specialty blends and refreshers are all the rage and also caffeine-free. They’re colorful, super fun, and downright delicious if you’re vegan or not. It’s time to give one (or all of them!) a try!

  • Dragon Drink (mango dragonfruit and coconut milk)
  • Golden Ginger (coconut milk with ginger, pineapple, and turmeric)
  • Pink Drink (strawberry acai and coconut milk)
  • Star Drink (kiwi starfruit and coconut milk)
  • Strawberry Lemonade Blended (ice, lemonade, creme frappuccino syrup, and strawberry puree)
  • Very Berry Hibiscus (blackberry flavor with hibiscus, sweet ginger, and lemongrass)
  • Violet Drink (very berry hibiscus refresher with coconut milk and ice)
Starbucks pink dragon drink dairy free and vegan
Source: @Starbucks on Instagram

Vegan Food Options at Starbucks

This popular cafe also has a wide selection of vegan choices, and approximately 60 million people visiting Starbucks every single week, it’s wonderful to know that much of their menu can easily be made plant-based to accommodate vegans and health-conscious consumers. Cheers to that!

At the moment, you can order food items such as:

  • Bagels – Cinnamon Raisin, Everything, Plain, and Sprouted Grain (add avocado spread or Justin’s nut butter)
  • Chickpea Bites and Avocado Protein Box
  • Oatmeal – Rolled & Steel Cut Plain (with brown sugar, dried fruit, and nuts) or Blueberry (with nut medley, blueberries, and agave nectar). Request non-dairy milk on the side if you’d like extra liquid.
  • Strawberry Overnight Grains – Includes oatmeal (in coconut milk), cooked steal cut oats, red quinoa, and chia seeds with coconut shavings, strawberries, and toasted almonds.
homemade vegan bagels

Vegan Snacks at Starbucks

There are tons of tasty choices for Starbucks vegan snacks. At least half of the sweet and salty snack selections are vegan-friendly and dairy-free. Just take a quick peek at the back of those pre-made packages and skim the list for milk, egg, or meat ingredients. You’re likely to be pleasantly surprised with their vegan offerings—chips, cookies, and candies, oh my!

Here is a sound sampling of some of the treats on display:

NOT Vegan at Starbucks

These items at Starbucks contain dairy and cannot be made vegan:

  • Caramel Brûlée (try our vegan creme brûlée instead!)
  • Caramel Drizzle/Sauce
  • Chai Latte (Chai syrup used in the latte contains honey, but the chai tea that comes in a teabag is vegan-friendly.)
  • Cinnamon Dolce Topping
  • Dark Chocolate Curls
  • Frappuccino Chips
  • Light Frappuccinos
  • Pumpkin Spice Sauce
  • White Chocolate Mocha 

Sauces: White Chocolate Mocha, Caramel Drizzle/Sauce (caramel syrup is vegan), Dark Caramel Sauce, Pistachio Sauce, Caramel Brulee Sauce

Creams: Irish Cold Foam, Salted Caramel, and Vanilla Sweet

FAQs About the Vegan Options at Starbucks

Is the mocha sauce at Starbucks vegan?

Yes, it is! With only four simple ingredients of water, sugar, cocoa, and natural flavors, it can be considered vegan-friendly.

What drizzle is vegan at Starbucks?

At the moment, the only sauce that is vegan is their mocha sauce. The caramel sauce/drizzle is not vegan, but the caramel syrup is only made with sugar, not dairy.

Are Starbucks bagels vegan?

According to their current Health and Wellness Fact sheet, the Plain, Cinnamon Raisin, Sprouted Grain, and Everything bagels are vegan.

Is the Chai at Starbucks vegan?

Well, the answer is yes and no. If you’re ordering a Chai Latte, then it’s a no-go because of the dairy. But, if you’re having a hot chai tea (using a tea bag), then it’s a yes. You can ask for a plant-based milk to add into it and perhaps a simple agave sweetener or sugar.

Are there any gluten-free options at Starbucks?

The Kind granola bars and the Marshmallow Dream bars seem to be the only gluten-free options but, sadly, they are not vegan.

Is the Impossible Breakfast Sandwich at Starbucks Vegan?

Although you’d assume it would be, it’s the same situation as Dunkin’ Donuts with their Beyond Sausage Breakfast Sandwich. They add both egg and cheese to the sandwich before serving and, unless you wish to pick them both off before eating, you may want to forget about ordering this particular item.

Starbucks oatmilk launch with Oatly
Source: @Starbucks on Instagram

Make Your Own Homemade Vegan Drinks and Desserts

If you’re frustrated with the lack of luscious vegan desserts and wonderfully warm (or cool and creamy!) drinks, we know just the thing to tide you over. Take just a few minutes to make one or two of these deliciously decadent recipes, settle into your favorite comfy chair, and enjoy in your own environment. Set the speakers to some soothing jazz sounds and enjoy the peaceful ambiance!

For a shortcut, make a pot of coffee and add these delicious Vegan Coffee Creamers!

Glass mug of vegan pumpkin spice latte, topped with dairy free whipped cream.

Creating a Kinder and More Accessible Starbucks Vegan Experience

Although this semi-cozy, high-end cafe does not yet have a specific vegan Starbucks menu to order from (we hope someday!), we can still keep our fingers crossed that our passionate vegan pleas will be heard. Since there are so few vegan-friendly coffee or sweet craving choices on the fast food front, let’s hope that they will continue to step up their Starbucks dairy free drinks and add at least one vegan bakery item soon. Wouldn’t it be a dream to be able to order a vegan cappuccino, vegan latte, or a vegan frappuccino without any fuss or extra charges? 

In the meantime, we can always write to, call, or contact the managers of any location to make our requests.

What would be your most wished for food items on a vegan menu at Starbucks ? Let us know on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram!

At the time of this article, the menu items mentioned above are vegan. Since restaurants constantly update their menus and add or take away items, please keep this in mind when ordering your food. There may be new Starbucks vegan options that are not listed or items listed here as vegan, which are no longer vegan. Take care to double-check.

newsletter offer

Enter to Win Our Monthly Giveaway!

New winner evert month! Drop your name below for a chance to win hundreds of dollars of vegan prizes from our brand partners. You’ll also receive our weekly e-newsletter with plant-based recipes galore!

Thank you for subscribing!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

2 comments
  1. Legitimate vegans don’t consume non-vegan sugar as it supports murdering cows for their bones which it’s processed with to give its white color. The manufactures of Starbucks syrups such as Torini state when asked they are not vegan, if I remember correctly it’s even on their website. The list in this blog is misinformation.

    • Hi Michelle, thank you for your comment on our blog post. We believe that Starbucks uses Fontana, not Torani syrups. I also found this information on the Food Republic blog: “Not to be confused with Starbucks’ sauces, most of which are not vegan-friendly, all of the currently available syrups are vegan-safe. Along with the three flavors the company names in its fact sheet, the other syrups without any animal ingredients are brown sugar, caramel sugar, chestnut praline, cinnamon caramel, cinnamon dolce, gingerbread, hazelnut, peppermint, sugar cookie, sugar-free vanilla, and toffeenut. The brand’s classic syrup is just another name for a regular simple syrup sweetener made with sugar, and it, too, is vegan.” (Read More: https://www.foodrepublic.com/1519516/syrups-plant-based-starbucks-drinks/) We’d love it if you checked out our Vegan Sugar Guide.

Stay Inspired!

Thank you for subscribing!