How to Order Vegan at Dunkin Donuts

This comprehensive guide outlines all the vegan menu options at Dunkin' Donuts. From coffee with creamy oat milk to the Beyond breakfast sausage sandwich (which can be made vegan), there are finally some solid options for dairy-free diners.
post featured image
A vegan sausage sandwich option at Dunkin' Donuts.
This post may contain affiliate links, which means that I make a small commission off items you purchase at no additional cost to you. Please read my policy page.

Do you agree that “America Runs on Dunkin’,” like the slogan suggests? We know many plant-based people would swear that’s true, while others are only satisfied with Starbucks. Here at World of Vegan, we’re big fans of independent coffee shops, and better yet, there are now fully vegan cafes sprouting up around the world!

If you’re really lucky, you may even have access to a fully vegan cafe like Timeless Coffee in Oakland! Whichever you choose for your caffeine kick, there comes a time when you simply NEED coffee (or perhaps tea). So today, we’re sharing how to order vegan at Dunkin’ Donuts.

This guide is one of our many vegan Fast Food menu guides for plant-based diners!

How to Order Vegan at Dunkin' Donuts

Does Dunkin’ Donuts Have Vegan Donuts?

Although there are a number of vegan-friendly substitutions for both hot beverages (yay for almond milk, oat milk, and the recently added coconut milk!), the star of the show—donuts—sadly aren’t vegan.

If you’re in Belgium, it’s a different story. In 2021, they launched 41 vegan doughnut flavors, which are still on the menu today!

For the rest of us, if they didn’t have those heavenly hash browns, we might not be as motivated to desire Dunkin’ Donuts. But if you live in Dunkin’ territory, it’s likely you’ll land there one day. So we’ve listed a few substitution suggestions below for food and beverages that might satisfy some of your hunger.

Keep in mind that specialty or seasonal beverages rely heavily on milk or cream for their richness, so they are not a good choice for vegans.

We hope this guide will help you with how to order vegan at Dunkin’ Donuts!

Vegan Menu Options at Dunkin’ Donuts

Vegan Breakfast Options

  • Multigrain Brown Sugar Oatmeal (made with hot water, oat or almond milk) only at some locations
  • Hash Browns
vegan hash browns in a paper bag from dunkin donuts

Breads

  • English muffin
  • Multigrain Thins
  • Sourdough

Bagels

  • Cinnamon Raisin
  • Everything
  • Multigrain
  • Plain
  • Sesame

Check out our vegan bagels guide for more information about bagels!

plain bagel from dunkin donuts

Coolattas and Refreshers:

  • Blue Raspberry Coolatta
  • Strawberry Coolatta
  • Dunkin’ Refreshers
  • Dunkin’ Coconut Refreshers

Vegan Beverages:

  • Hot, Iced or Cold Brew Coffee
  • Hot or Iced Tea
  • Iced Blueberry or Raspberry Black Tea (sweetened or unsweetened)
  • Iced Green Tea (sweetened or unsweetened)
  • Black or Herbal Teas
  • Strawberry Dunkin’ Energy Power Punch by Monster Energy (specialty drink) 
  • Cappuccino (with almond milk, oat milk, or coconut milk)
  • Latte (with almond milk, oat milk, or coconut milk)
  • Matcha Latte (with almond milk, oat milk, or coconut milk)
  • Chai Latte (with almond milk, oat milk, or coconut milk)
  • Macchiato (with almond milk, oat milk, or coconut milk)
  • Espresso
  • Mocha Swirl Iced Coffee (no cream or milk)
  • Sparkd’ Energy
dunkin donuts dairy free oat milk coffee in cheers cup

NOT Vegan at Dunkin’ Donuts

Here’s what you should definitely avoid that are not vegan at Dunkin’ Donuts:

  • All donuts, munchkins, and muffins
  • Specialty drinks (not listed above)
  • Croissant
  • Spreads
  • Smoothies

The usual whipped cream, cream, milk, butter, eggs, and meats are also not vegan. Additionally, both the Vanilla Chai and Hot Chocolate are NOT vegan. Both are created with a pre-made mix that includes both a milk derivative and a non-fat dry milk powder.

Bring Your Own Fixin’s

Sure, you can get a little packet of peanut butter if you’d like (it’s vegan), but can’t we do better? Level-up your order by bringing your own add-ons! Here are a few ideas:

  • Bring a convenient container of nut butter, vegan cream cheese, or avocado with you when ordering a bagel. Just slather each side with some creamy goodness and enjoy with an order of crispy hash brown crowns!
  • Have some savory hummus nearby when you order a toasted english muffin or multigrain thin. You could even add it to your bagel, Beyond Sausage sandwich or wrap for an extra filling meal!
  • Carry your favorite plant-based milk or vegan coffee creamer with you in a little thermos or water bottle. Ask for your favorite hot or iced coffee black (sweetened or unsweetened) and you can add as much or little plant-based milk as you wish. You could do the same with sweetener, such as stevia, maple syrup, or agave.
peanut butter packet from dunkin donuts
Container of Peanut Butter from Dunkin’ Donuts

Frequently Asked Questions

Do Munchkins have dairy?

Yes, all Munchkins contain dairy in the form of non-fat dry milk and occasionally whey and whey solids.

Is Dunkin’ Donuts hot chocolate vegan?

No, unfortunately, it is made with a pre-made mix that contains a milk derivative and non-fat dry milk powder making it not vegan.

Are any of the donuts at Dunkin’ vegan?

Sadly, no. In order to get your donut fix, you might want to check out our vegan donuts guide or make your own like these incredible vegan chocolate donuts.

Does Dunkin’ have a vegan breakfast sandwich?

Dunkin’ previously offered a Beyond Sausage Sandwich/Wrap that could be ordered with no egg or cheese to make it vegan. However, it is no longer available. They also previously offered avocado toast and hummus toast in 2021, which are both off the menu as well.

Vegan Beyond Sausage Sandwich at Dunkin Donuts
Pictured: Beyond Sausage Sandwich With No Egg or Cheese

Helpful Hints When Ordering Vegan at Dunkin’ Donuts

  • Browse the Dunkin’ Donuts website before ordering.
  • If ordering Dunkin’ Donuts online through a delivery service, make sure you clearly specify any substitutions you would like. Especially concerning plant-based milks. If you’re worried that your request may not be honored (or seen by the server at DD), it might be a better idea to go there directly to order. 
  • Download both the Nutrition Information PDF and the Allergens & Ingredients PDF to make sure that you are purchasing a vegan-friendly item. The products offered at Dunkin’ Donuts do change and the PDFs seem to be updated regularly.
  • From past experience, it seems that most (if not all) seasonal drinks or foods are not vegan because of added dairy milk or milk derivatives. Be careful when new and exciting seasonal products are offered at Dunkin’ Donuts. If items don’t specifically state that they are vegan, chances are they are not.
  • If you want to help ensure you’re getting a fully vegan breakfast sandwich and would like to save a few bucks, just ask for an English muffin with an extra Beyond Sausage patty. The national suggested retail price of the Beyond Sausage Sandwich is $3.99 but can be more or less expensive depending on the region.

Help Create a Kinder Dunkin’ Donuts

It’s only a matter of time before vegan donuts land on the menu. That’s the direction all the big fast food chains are heading, and Dunkin’ Donuts knows the pressure is on. But meanwhile, we can always write to, call, or contact the managers of any location to make our requests. 

Perhaps asking if eggs can be switched to JUST Egg as an option for sandwiches? Surely, if millions of vegans share their voices and donut desires, we’ll be able to bask in baked goods in the future.

How to Order at Other Chains

Looking for more vegan menu guides for popular fast food restaurants and chains? We have dozens waiting for you!

Have you found any other options to be veganizable? Did you find something amazing that we missed? Let us know by tagging #worldofvegan and sharing your favorite vegan-at-Dunkin-Donuts creations with all of us!

This article is not sponsored and we are in no way affiliated with Dunkin’ Donuts. At the time of this article, the foods mentioned above are vegan. Since restaurants constantly update their menus and add or take away items, please keep this in mind when ordering your food. There may be new items that are vegan at Dunkin’ Donuts and not listed or items listed here as vegan, which are no longer vegan. Take care to double-check.

newsletter offer

Enter to Win Our Monthly Giveaway!

New winner evert month! Drop your name below for a chance to win hundreds of dollars of vegan prizes from our brand partners. You’ll also receive our weekly e-newsletter with plant-based recipes galore!

Thank you for subscribing!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

8 comments
  1. I love your how to order vegan series super helpful when on the road.

  2. Andrea White says:

    I love and appreciate your articles like this! So pumped to see that they have partnered with beyond. Looking forward to a vegan donut soon!!

  3. I don’t think I’ve been to Dunkin’ Donuts since going vegan. Wish they would make vegan donuts, I would totally go if that was the case haha. At least there are still some vegan options, thanks for sharing these!

  4. It was a true learning experience researching this article. We’ve only gone for my hubby to get coffee, not food, so it was interesting visiting to see which food and drinks were vegan-friendly. I hope they’ll offer a vegan donut in the future!

  5. What a great guide! I love your idea of bringing your own bagel spreads or creamer/barista milk. I also didn’t know that Dunkins hashbrowns are vegan, yay!

  6. Loving this guide, made me hungry 🙂

  7. Too bad they discontinued the Beyond Sausage Sandwich in most areas. Way to take a step backward!! ;-(

    • SO sad, right!?!?! It feels like actual heartbreak to have huge steps forward withdrawn. 🙁

Stay Inspired!

Thank you for subscribing!