Coffee lovers in California know that Peet’s is a sound choice when it comes to vegan-friendly coffee. The slightly sweet and dark roasted blends are unique and refreshing. Visiting Peet’s Coffee is a little like being a kid in a candy store––it’s so hard to decide which brew-tiful beans to try.
In April 1966, Alfred Peet opened his first coffee shop near the University of California’s campus. His aim was to create a blend of coffee that people would truly enjoy, unlike the conventional coffee that they were currently drinking. “I came to the richest country in the world, so why are they drinking the lousiest coffee?”
After trial and error, as well as ignoring his mother’s advice, he finally found the perfect method to appease his coffee madness. The company now offers over 40 exclusive coffee blends, as well as more than 44 tasty and tempting teas from Mighty Leaf. Definitely something to suit every taste and please most palates.
We hope that this list of vegan-friendly menu items will help you make better choices when ordering in person or online. Although the range of locations of Peet’s Coffee is currently on the smaller side (about 200 over 11 states in the U.S.), you can easily place an order on their website and they’ll ship a bag of beans right to your door. You can make some mug-nificent Peet’s Coffee in the comfort of your own home.
The baked good offerings at Peet’s varies, but they usually have something vegan, even if it’s not labeled. Always ask! Sometimes they will even have specific vegan cookies that they keep behind the counter (which they’ve been doing for many years). If they ever have their vegan ginger cookies available, you’ve gotta try them. They’re A++.
Most of the beverages can be made vegan by either having black or requesting a plant-based milk instead of dairy milk. The whipped cream and caramel sauce are not vegan, so be careful when ordering.
NOTE: At the time of this article, the plant-based milk alternatives that they use are by Pacifica Foods.
NOTE: Most of these items vary from state to state. You can download the nutritional information for these items here.
Peet’s Coffee does not indicate why these specific drinks cannot be made vegan, but here are the ones that they listed as no-gos.
Eating or drinking vegan at Peet’s Coffee doesn’t have to be confusing. Try out these tips below to make your coffee shop experience more satisfying.
Let them know! Your voice matters. Request more plant-based beverages and savory treats. Write them, message them on social media, talk to the manager of your local branch. Trust us, they are listening, and the more they hear it, the faster they’ll evolve.
Be sure to visit our vegan fast food guide for a complete list of fast food restaurants that offer vegan options and how to navigate the menu at each.
Have you found any other options to be veganizable? Did you find something amazing that we missed? Let us know by tagging #worldofvegan and sharing your favorite vegan-at-PeetsCoffee creations with all of us!
This article is not sponsored and we are in no way affiliated with Peet’s Coffee. At the time of this article, the foods mentioned above are vegan. Since coffee shops constantly update their menus and add or take away items, please keep this in mind when ordering your beverage or food. There may be new items that are vegan and not listed or items listed here as vegan, which are no longer vegan. Take care to double-check.
This guide to ordering vegan at Peets was written by Gina House and edited by Amanda Meth.Content copyright World of Vegan, all rights reserved. Cover photo from Canva.com designed by Michelle Cehn. This article may include affiliate links when available and shopping through these links supports World of Vegan.
Leave a Comment