How to Order Vegan at Pizza Hut

Discovering delicious vegan options at Pizza Hut is easier than you might think. In this guide, we'll explore all of the plant-based choices, from crust to toppings, and what to avoid, so you can eat at Pizza Hut
post featured image
A vegan pizaa option from Pizza Hut with plant-based sausage.
This post may contain affiliate links, which means that I make a small commission off items you purchase at no additional cost to you. Please read my policy page.

This restaurant has stolen a pizza my heart forever. I have such joyful memories growing up in the early 80s and visiting Pizza Hut with my mom, my grandma, and my sister once a month. We would load up on pepperoni pizza, sip Pepsi out of huge red plastic cups and (my personal favorite) eat salad on super small plates covered with spoonfuls of sticky, orange french dressing and as many sunflower seeds as the plate could handle.

When I got older and I had my own family, my youngest son loved Pizza Hut as much as I did and would always ask for Pizza Hut for his birthday dinner. At that time, I had no idea how much the dairy cheese and pepperoni were hindering our health and causing so much suffering to animals.

I didn’t have to think about how to order vegan at Pizza Hut back then, but now I’m on a mission to fulfill my plant-based pizza cravings! While they don’t have vegan cheese (yet), you can load up your pizza with tasty crusty, a variety of sauces, and all the veggies your heart desires.

Guide to Ordering Vegan at Pizza Hut.

Quick Vegan Pizza Ordering Tips

Here’s how to order vegan at Pizza Hut and make your own mouth watering meal:

  • Choose a pizza crust (see vegan options below)
  • Select a sauce
  • Ask for “no cheese” or dairy-free cheese (if you’re in the UK, you’re in luck!)
  • Pick your favorite veggie toppings
  • Consider a dipping sauce
  • Add a side of fries, breadsticks (with no parmesan or seasonings), cinnamon sticks (with no icing), or fried apple pie—maybe all four!

We hope this guide will help you with how to order vegan at Pizza Hut!

Pizza Hut Vegan Options

Vegan Pizza Crusts

You’ll be pleased to find that most of the crusts at Pizza Hut are vegan-friendly! The only one you’ll want to avoid is the stuffed crust (unless you’re lucky enough to be in the UK). Everything else is fair game:

  • Hand Tossed
  • Original Pan
  • Thin & Crispy
  • Rectangular Crust

Vegan Crust Flavor

Most crust flavors are not vegan, but the Butter Blend happens to be accidentally vegan! Otherwise, options in this category are limited:

  • No Crust Flavor (aka plain)
  • Buttery Blend (not the Garlic Buttery Blend—that one contains dairy)

Vegan Pizza Sauces

When it comes to sauce, you have a few options. Go for classic, buffalo, or even bean sauce. The Bean sauce is for their taco pizza, and while that pizza ordered as-is is not vegan, the sauce is!

  • Marinara
  • Buffalo
  • Bean (regional)

Vegan Vegetable Toppings

No veggie is off-limits! Enjoy an abundance of delicious vegetables on your pizza:

  • Banana Peppers
  • Chopped Garlic
  • Green Bell Pepper
  • Green Chili Peppers
  • Jalapeño Peppers
  • Lettuce
  • Mushrooms
  • Olives (green and black)
  • Red Onions
  • Roasted Spinach
  • Roma Tomatoes
  • Saurkraut
  • Sweet Pineapple

Vegan Sides

  • Breadsticks (order with no parmesan cheese or seasonings)
  • Hashbrowns
  • Lay’s Potato Chips
  • Wing Street Fries

Vegan Dips

  • BBQ Drizzle
  • Buffalo
  • Lemon Pepper (regional)
  • Spicy Asian (regional)
  • Ketchup

Vegan Desserts

  • Apple Pie (regional)
  • Cinnamon Sticks (without icing)

Vegan Beverages

  • Aquafina Water
  • Pepsi Fountain Drinks (both diet and regular)

Vegan-Friendly Salad Dressings

  • Light Italian
  • Balsamic Viniagrette
  • Sun Dried Tomato Basil

Note: These dressings are available if you’re dining in and purchasing the salad bar, but they may be available to add for take out by request.

NOT Vegan at Pizza Hut

Flavored crusts (other than the Buttery Blend, which does not contain butter), any desserts besides the fried apple pie or cinnamon sticks (order without icing), pasta dishes, or garlic knots (contain cheese).

Add Your Own Toppings

Power up your pizza order with your own toppings! If you’re taking the pizza to go, you can spruce it up with your favorites at home. Here are a few ideas:

  • It goes without saying that if you want a cheesy pizza, you need to add your own cheese. Add some vegan cheese shreds or slices of Miyoko’s mozzarella and pop the pizza back in the oven at home. You can broil it briefly to melt the added vegan cheese.
  • Although Pizza Hut has a sufficient selection of veggies, your favorite might have missed the menu. Arm yourself with marinated artichoke hearts, sun-dried tomatoes, or even grilled asparagus.
  • Fresh herbs and baby greens are fantastic for flavor and fundamental vitamins and minerals. If spinach doesn’t do it for you, bring in some sweet basil, spicy arugula, mellow microgreens, curly kale, or opt for oregano.
  • Add your favorite vegan meats. Vegan pepperoni is a classic but vegan sausage or even some vegan bacon bits on top would be delish!

FAQ’s

Can vegans eat at Pizza Hut?

Yes, vegans can enjoy a meal at Pizza Hut by making a few simple swaps. For pizzas, most crusts are vegan. Simply choose your vegetable toppings and ask for no cheese. Some countries have entirely vegan pizza options with vegan meats and cheeses, but this is not currently available in the US.

Does Pizza Hut have vegan cheese?

In 2017 Pizza Hut trialed Violife in select locations in the UK. It is now a staple menu item throughout the nation as well as in Australia and Germany. However, there is still no vegan cheese option in the US.

Is Beyond Meat still available at Pizza Hut?

Unfortunately, Beyond Meat pizzas are no longer available at Pizza Hut. They were tested out in 2020 but only for a limited time. Customers had the choice between the Beyond Italian Sausage Pizza and The Great Beyond Pizza.

Pizza Hut's New Vegan Beyond Meat Pizza

Helpful Hints When Ordering Vegan at Pizza Hut

  • Browse the Pizza Hut website before ordering.
  • If ordering Pizza Hut online through a delivery service, make sure you clearly specify any substitutions you would like. Especially concerning cheese. If you’re worried that your request may not be honored (or seen by the server at Pizza Hut), it might be a better idea to go there directly to order.
  • Check out both the Nutrition Information Calculator and the Food Allergy & Sensitivity Information to make sure that you are purchasing a vegan-friendly item. The products offered at Pizza Hut do change and the information seems to be updated regularly.
  • At the time of this article, Pizza Hut is not offering vegan cheese options. Any pizza you purchase must be ordered without cheese to be vegan.
  • If there is any kind of salad or salad bar option on the menu, make sure to add it to your meal. It will make your supper so much more satisfying with a punch of plant power and the fiber-y fullness.

Help Create a More Compassionate Pizza Hut

Now that Pizza Hut has trialed Beyond Meat’s Italian Sausage, it’s only a matter of time before vegan cheese is also chosen. That’s the direction all the big fast-food pizza chains are heading, and Pizza Hut will have to step up its game sooner rather than later to stay ahead. But meanwhile, we can always write to, call, or contact the managers of any location to make our requests.

Requesting not only vegan cheese (wouldn’t Miyoko’s be amazing?), but also a few sides other than fries would be fantastic. A side salad, a selection of plant-based dips, or even one dessert would be most welcome.

How to Order Vegan at Other Fast Food Chains

Guide to Ordering Vegan at Pizza Hut

Have you found any other options to be veganizable? Did you find something amazing that we missed? Let us know by tagging #worldofvegan and sharing your favorite vegan-at-Pizza-Hut creations with all of us!

This article is not sponsored and we are in no way affiliated with Pizza Hut. At the time of this article, the foods mentioned above are vegan. Since restaurants constantly update their menus and add or take away items, please keep this in mind when ordering your food. There may be new items that are vegan at Pizza Hut and not listed or items listed here as vegan, which are no longer vegan. Take care to double-check.

newsletter offer

Enter to Win Our Monthly Giveaway!

New winner evert month! Drop your name below for a chance to win hundreds of dollars of vegan prizes from our brand partners. You’ll also receive our weekly e-newsletter with plant-based recipes galore!

Thank you for subscribing!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

3 comments
  1. In Canada it looks like (I believe) all the crusts have Whey Powder 🙁

    • That is so frustrating but thank you for bringing it to our attention! It looks like in Canada, the only vegan crust option is the frozen pan crust 🙁 But it looks like you’ll need to specify the frozen one since fresh contains whey powder.

  2. Veronica Motta says:

    Yes plant base cheese please some taste good,also beyond burger tastes so good alot like real cheeseburgers,I will try beyond sausage and send you the results of taste. Love pizza hut.

Stay Inspired!

Thank you for subscribing!