Vegan at Carl’s Jr.—The Beyond Famous Star Burger

Vegan at Carl’s Jr.—The Beyond Famous Star Burger

25 years. That’s how long it’s been since I’ve eaten a burger from a fast food chain…until today. Carl’s Jr. just announced their new “Beyond Famous Star” burger made with the popular vegan Beyond Burger.

When ordered without cheese and mayo, it’s fully vegan! So you better believe I hopped in the car with my hubby (who has been vegan for 10 years) and raced over to our nearest Carl’s Jr., which happened to be just a couple of miles away. 

The vegan burger at Carl’s Jr. comes with a charbroiled Beyond Burger patty, iceberg lettuce, yellow onion, tomato, dill pickles, and special sauce (which does happen to be vegan), all on a pillowy sesame seed bun. And it was dang good. Take a look! 

Right now on the Carl’s Jr. website, the 100% plant-based Beyond Burger is smack-dab in the middle of the front page. When you walk into the restaurant or head through the drive-through, you won’t have to look hard to notice the big “Beyond Famous Star Burger” signs. Carl’s Jr. not only brought this option to their menu, but they’re shouting it from the rooftops, loud-and-proud!

And I have to say, my first fast food burger in two-and-a-half decades was a nostalgic delight to enjoy. My hubby loved it so much he wanted to go back the next day. Now, don’t get me wrong, I won’t be making fast-food a habit. It may be vegan, but it’s still a burger—it’s certainly not a health food, especially when ordered with a side of fries. Plus, it’s rather expensive as well compared to healthy home cooking.

But if I’m ever on a cross-country road trip and dying for a comfort food meal, I’m so glad that there will be something to choose from besides a soggy Subway sandwich. 


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by WORLD OF VEGAN 🌱 (@vegan) on

I sincerely hope the new vegan burger at Carl’s Jr. is a huge, whopping, headline-garnering success. A success so big that every other fast food chain looks at what Carl’s Jr. has done and kicks themselves for not being the first one to do it. Mc Donald’s…I’m lookin’ at you!

It’s only a matter of time, I think, because veganism is on the rise big time

But…Is The Carl’s Jr. Burger REALLY Vegan?

You may have heard from the Vegan Police that the Carl’s Jr. burger isn’t really vegan. Let’s take a moment. to clear this up.

The ingredients in the Beyond Famous Star burger and fixings are indeed fully vegan (when ordered without cheese and mayo). However, they don’t guarantee the vegan status of the final burger because there could be cross-contamination with other foods served at Carl’s Jr.

While this thought may totally gross you out and send you running in the opposite direction, note that not everyone feels that way. Yes, I realize that eating food that was prepared in the same area as animal products may be off-putting, but microscopic cross-contamination won’t cause additional harm to animals, our planet or our bodies (unless you have a severe allergy).  

If you’re someone who struggles with the idea of being a “perfect vegan,” I encourage you to check out this piece about how there’s no such thing as a perfect vegan. To strive for total purity is not only wasteful but can also be counterproductive. 

So…Where Can I Get One? 

Carl’s Jr. has close to 1,500 locations across the United States, so if you live in America, there’s a good chance you’ll be able to find one. All locations should have the Beyond burgers available! But hey, I wouldn’t be sad if they sold so many that they ran out! 

Share This Post