Wondering what’s vegan at White Castle? In this fast food guide, we’ll share all the dos and don’ts of ordering plant-based burgers and salty sides. With 377 locations nationwide, will they finally fulfill our desire for vegan cheese? Keep reading to find out!
When it comes to burgers (plant-based or otherwise), you wouldn’t think that we’d be overly partial to a particular patty shape. But, we seem to be deeply drawn to and ultimately attracted by the small, solitary squares of a certain burger building. If you’re one of millions attracted to these sassy sliders, you’ll be happy to know how to order vegan at White Castle.
On the other hand, if your first instinct is to positively pass by this burger place, you may want to reconsider. Though far from healthy and having only a few plant-based products, it’s got much better options than either McDonald’s, Burger King, or Subway for vegan versions of beef-based sandwiches.
While you certainly don’t have to be a knight or lady-in-waiting to wander into White Castle, all customers are not afforded the luxury of a myriad of menu items. Are you ready to find out which White Castle vegan options are open to passionate plant-based eaters like us? Here’s what you can expect!
Starting in March 2020, White Castle began offering dairy-free cheddar cheese by GoodPlanet Foods, but only at their NY and NJ locations in the US. Make sure to ask before ordering. If White Castle has expanded their menu to include more locations, it could be the one that you’re at right now!
Note: Fried Pickles and Sweet Potato Waffles Fries are two items that are only available for limited times and don’t seem to be offered at every location. If you’re craving either one, make sure to ask. You might get lucky!
You’re in luck! Although not fully vegan, these White Caste sliders can be veganized and enjoyed by all plant-based people. For the items below, ask for no mayo, meat, egg, or dairy cheese. Add extra lettuce, tomato, onions, and/or pickles. Both are served on a dairy-free slider bun.
All of these options contain milk or an animal-based derived ingredients, so they are not vegan-friendly.
Ordering vegan at White Castle is simple because you only have a two burger options and a couple of potato choices. Let’s cross our fingers that they start offering vegan cheese at ALL locations and not just in two states. If you’re unsure how to plan your plant-based, fast food meal, here are a few suggestions:
It’s only a matter of time before more vegan options land on the menu. That’s the direction all the big fast food chains are heading, and White Castle knows that they can add a few more items that are vegan-friendly, such as vegan cheese. But meanwhile, we can always write to, call, or contact the managers of any location to make our requests.
Did you know that White Castle was the first American fast food chain? In 1921, Walt Anderson began flipping quick and inexpensive burgers back in Wichita, Kansas. The iconic white castle exterior that we all recognize today is actually only 28 feet square and, though it started off as location No. 8, now acts as a souvenir stand.
Ever wonder how White Castle got its unique name? After the 1906 novel, The Jungle, highlighted the harsh, cruel, and unsanitary conditions of the meat packing industry, not many people were as motivated to support the business of burgers. The owner decided to upgrade the reputation of the restaurant by using the castle motif as representing ‘strength’ and the color white for ‘purity’. Apparently, it worked well for them.
Have you found any other options to be veganizable? Did you find something amazing that we missed? Let us know by tagging #worldofvegan and sharing your favorite vegan-at-White-Castle creations with all of us!
This vegan at White Castle fast food article is not sponsored and we are in no way affiliated with White Castle. At the time of this article, the foods mentioned above are vegan. Since restaurants constantly update their menus and add or take away items, please keep this in mind when ordering your food. There may be new items that are vegan at White Castle and not listed or items listed here as vegan, which are no longer vegan. Take care to double-check.