Were Takis Mexican-style rolled tortilla chips one of your favorite snacks growing up? We love them—especially the Spicy Sweet Chili flavor! They’re delicious and crunchy and very widely accessible. Let’s be real though: most people like Takis because they taste good — not because of their animal welfare status or nutritional content. If you’ve read this blog before, you probably know where I’m going with this: are Takis vegan? Are they vegetarian? Dairy-free? What are the vegan flavors of Takis? We answer it all below.
What Are Takis? Takis (aka Taquis) are Mexican spicy crunchy rolled-up taquito-inspired chips that are popular in the United States, Canada, Mexico, and around the world.
Are Takis vegan? The short answer is: yes, most flavors are! Specifically the Fuego Flavor, Habanero, Spicy Sweet Chili, and other flavors listed below.
Some people may not care what ingredients are used in a particular food and just want to satisfy their hunger or craving. However, many people prefer to know whether or not a product uses animal ingredients and byproducts such as gelatin, whey powder, caseinate, etc. Or perhaps even honey! For those who don’t want to consume any animal ingredients, it is important that you consider this before eating such products.
Why the vegan status matters: We cannot ignore that some people choose not to eat animal ingredients because of ethical reasons. Regardless of whether you are vegan or not, the use of an animal product in a food can be considered unethical. For example, using pig fat as a cheap ingredient instead of plant oils causes harm to pigs who are often kept in poor conditions. It is important to be aware!
The ingredients in packaged food products like Takis are not hard to find—it just takes some extra work and attention on our part. Most of what we need to know about the ingredients are right on the label.
Before delving into this topic further, let’s note that Takis come in different varieties depending on where you purchase them. The flavors range from regular Fuego (hot) or mild Chipotle Ranch variations to Fuego Habanero and Spicy Sweet Chili. Although the flavors are similar, each variety contains slightly different ingredients. For example, the Chipotle Ranch Takis contain buttermilk, while the Original Fuego favored Takis do not. So let’s dive into which are vegan.
Corn Masa Flour, Vegetable Oil, Salt, Maltodextrin, Diced Tomato with Green Chile Peppers Seasoning (Diced Tomatoes, Water, Vegetable Oil, Onion Powder, Salt, Dehydrated Garlic, Sugar, Dehydrated Onion, Dehydrated Green Chile Pepper, Spices, Citric Acid, Garlic Powder, Red Bell Pepper powder, Natural Flavor), Chili Pepper Extractives (Chili Peppers with Starch, Salt), Monosodium Glutamate (MSG), Cilantro. These Takis are vegan!
Corn Masa Flour, Vegetable Oil, Salt, Maltodextrin, Abe’s® Habanero Seasoning (Habanero Peppers, Distilled Vinegar, Red Chili Peppers, Garlic Powder, Spices), Diced Tomatoes with Jalapeno Seasoning (Diced Tomatoes , Water, Corn and/or Sunflower Oil, Green Bell Pepper Powder, Unmodified Potato Starch, Sugar, Salt, Onion Powder, Modified Food Starch, Citric Acid), Chili Pepper Extractives (Chili Peppers with Starch, Salt). These Takis are vegan!
Corn Masa Flour, Vegetable Oil (Sunflower or Canola), Salt, Maltodextrin, Spicy Sweet Chili Seasoning (Sugar, Dehydrated Garlic and Onion, Dehydrated Red Bell Pepper (Red Bell Peppers , Vinegar , Salt), Chili Pepper Powder Spice Extractive (Chili Peppers with Starch). These Takis are vegan!
Corn flour, Canola and/or soybean oil, Palm oil, Seasoning (artificial and natural flavors with wheat and soy), Sugar, Corn Maltodextrin, Cornstarch, Onion powder, Garlic powder, Black pepper, Laurel powder, Clove powder, Oregano powder, Dextrose, Citric acid, Corn hydrolyzed vegetable protein, Guajillo and chipotle chili powder color, Red chili pepper oleoresin, Yeast extract (soy), Salt, Potassium chloride, Water. These Takis are vegan!
Corn Flour, Vegetable Oil, Maltodextrin, Citric Acid, Sugar, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Monosodium Glutamate (MSG), Hydrolyzed Soybean Protein, Natural And Artificial Flavors, Hydrolyzed Yeast, Soybean Oil, Onion Powder, Blue 1 Lake, Sodium Bicarbonate, Chili Pepper (Chile), Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, Tbhq (Antioxidant). These Takis are vegan!
Takis as a brand is not “totally vegan” — however, most of their flavors are accidentally vegan! Are there any that AREN’T? Yes. And we listed them below.
Takis Ingredients (Nacho Xplosion Flavor): Corn flour, Canola oil, Corn maltodextrin, Sugar, Whey powder (milk)*, Salt, Onion powder, Monosodium glutamate (MSG), Palm oil, Garlic powder, Tomato powder, Hydrolyzed corn protein, Citric acid, Natural and artificial flavours, Silicon dioxide, Black pepper, Sunset yellow FCF, Disodium guanylate, Disodium inosinate, Paprika extract, Yeast extract, Tartrazine, Mono and diglycerides, Modified corn starch, Carotene. *NOT vegan
Takis Ingredients (Chipotle Ranch Flavor): Corn Masa Flour, Vegetable Oil, Salt , Maltodextrin, Diced Tomatoes with Jalapeno Seasoning (Diced Tomatoes, Water , Vegetable Oil, Green Bell Pepper Powder, Unmodified Potato Starch, Sugar , Salt , Onion Powder , Ranch Dressing Seasoning (Sugar, Salt, Dehydrated Garlic and Onions, Vegetable Oil, Maltodextrin, Modified Food Starch, Dried Buttermilk*, Natural Flavors, Xanthan Gum , Spice, Silicon Dioxide, Vegetable Juice [Carrot and Tomato Concentrates], Citric Acid), Chili Pepper Extractives (Chili Peppers with Starch, Salt), Monosodium Glutamate (MSG), Cilantro. *NOT vegan
The good news is that — as you can see — most Takis are vegan! At least five of the most popular flavors don’t contain any animal ingredients or byproducts! And these vegan flavors are also free from allergens such as dairy and eggs. But watch out for select non-vegan flavors like the Chipotle Ranch which contains buttermilk and the Crunchy Fajitas which contains milk and eggs.
For comparison’s sake, let’s take a look at Doritos. Doritos are loaded with animal products. Here are the ingredients for Nacho Cheese flavor Doritos: Corn Flour, Vegetable Oil (Sunflower, Canola and/or Corn), Salt, Cheddar Cheese* (Milk*, Cheese Cultures*, Salt, Enzymes), Maltodextrin, Whey*, Monosodium Glutamate (MSG), Buttermilk*, Sodium Caseinate*, Onion Powder, Lactos*, Skim Milk*, Garlic Powder, Artificial Color (Including Yellow 6 Lake, Red 40 Lake), Spice. *NOT vegan
Wondering how Takis are vegan while Doritos are not? The big difference is that Takis are baked, not fried like Doritos; therefore they don’t need all that fat (and fat-soluble milk solids) for taste and texture.
Takis are made on equipment that also processes milk ingredients. For legal purposes, they often include disclaimers such as “may contain milk” on their packaging in case there is microscopic cross-contamination. This does not mean the items are non-vegan — if there are no animal ingredients in the ingredient list, they are in fact vegan.
Just because a snack is vegan doesn’t mean it’s healthy. Takis are not a health food. But this article isn’t meant to say whether Takis are healthy or not healthy — It’s just pointing out what’s in them, and determining their vegan status. Please do your own research before eating anything! We’re not here to promote Takis or advocate for one vegan flavor over another — Fuego Takis vs. Habanero Takis — they have different tastes so choose your own adventure!
That’s a definite no. If you’re leading a primarily organic or unprocessed lifestyle, Takis are not for you. It’s important to note that these products aren’t organic! So although you can eat them guilt free knowing nothing in them is an animal product*, there might be pesticides in the ingredients. Unfortunately, my goal in life isn’t to eat as much organic as possible; it’s to be vegan and compassionate towards animals.
Yes, MSG is a common ingredient in Takis. But please note, MSG has gotten arguably worse press than it deserves. It is a common ingredient in many snack foods and is more triggering than it is actually harmful.
Just like with anything else in life… If you want to eat vegan snacks and are shopping for packaged convenience items, make sure you read the labels!
If you’re looking to stay away from animal products completely, use this website’s search bar with keywords like “healthy,” “easy,” “gluten-free,” etc., to find some great recipes! You can also call up restaurants and ask what ingredients are used in dishes if you aren’t sure.
Google is another great resource. With just one search, you can find out the vegan-friendliness of almost any food.
What are your favorite vegan snacks? Let us know in the comments below!
Here are some other articles I’ve written about things in the “snack world” – Enjoy!
Thanks for reading! Wo hope this helped you find your favorite vegan Takis. If we missed anything or if something needs to be edited/revised, please comment below. Please note: we are not associated with Takis in any way. We wrote this article because we were wondering the same exact thing ourselves – so if you found this helpful, cool! And if not, coolcoolcoolcoolcool. Thanks for reading either way 🙂 Also note: I’m not a doctor, nor do I play one on TV. This post isn’t meant as medical advice and please don’t take it as such! Happy snacking, darlings!
Leave a Comment