Three cheers for popcorn! Pip, pip, hurray! When it comes to choosing a healthy and satisfying snack, vegan popcorn is pretty much top of the list. It’s easy to turn snack time into a guilt-free fiesta when you choose a whole food option like this one—swapping out dairy-filled butter for ingenious plant-based alternatives that’ll make your taste buds do a happy dance. As for tasty toppings and sensational seasonings, the list is almost literally endless!
From movie nights to midnight munchies, these vegan popcorn brands are taking the ordinary to extraordinary. Ultimately proving that you don’t need even a small amount of animal products to create an incredible popcorn flavor. We’re sharing the best vegan popcorn brands that promote delicious taste, kindness, and the joy of guilt-free snacking!
If you’re anxious to learn more about this ancient snack food (we are!), keep reading!
Popcorn itself, in its most fundamental form, is vegan-friendly. It is made from dried corn kernels, a plant-based ingredient. Popcorn is essentially a whole grain snack that undergoes a simple process of heating to create the familiar, fluffy popcorn we know and love. This basic version of popcorn is entirely free from animal products.
However, when we talk about the vegan status of popcorn, it’s essential to distinguish between the popcorn itself and the toppings or flavorings that can be added to it, especially when you’re enjoying it pre-seasoned from a microwavable bag or at a movie theater. The concern for vegans often arises from the toppings commonly associated with popcorn, such as butter, which is not vegan. Of course, popcorn can be easily (and deliciously) made with vegan butter.
Movie theater popcorn can be a bit of a conundrum for vegans. Movie theater popcorn is usually vegan, but not always. While popcorn itself is a plant-based snack made from corn kernels, the issue lies in the preparation and toppings. In its most basic form, plain popcorn is undoubtedly vegan-friendly. It’s the buttery topping that often poses the problem.
Traditional movie theater butter is made butter flavors giving it that signature savory, buttery taste. Surprisingly, many butter flavorings are in fact vegan!
Here are some key things to consider when determining if movie theater popcorn is vegan:
If you’re concerned about the vegan options at your local theater, you can always bring your own vegan snacks. Just be sure to check the theater’s policy on outside food and beverages before you do so.
We love that these brands are vegan-friendly as well as delicious! All of these microwave popcorn brands can be found online or in your local grocery store. Add your own tasty toppings once popped or enjoy simply as prepared.
The Golden Fluff brand offers a premium snack known for its irresistibly light and crispy texture. Crafted with high-quality, non-GMO popcorn kernels, it offers a perfect balance of buttery flavor that delights taste buds. Kosher, sugar-free, vegan-friendly, and dairy-free.
This well-established popcorn brand is recognized for its wide variety of delicious popcorn products. Known for using high-quality ingredients, Jolly Time offers a tasty and reliable popcorn experience for popcorn enthusiasts of all ages. The Simply Popped version is dairy-free, gluten-free, and kosher using only three simple ingredients.
Popcorn by Nature’s Crush is a wholesome snack brand celebrated for its commitment to organic and natural ingredients. They focus on guilt-free indulgence with unique non-GMO flavor profiles. Choose from three delicious blends: Herb, Tex-Mex, and Zesty. Also, PFOA-free, gluten-free, and all-natural.
This amazing popcorn is the rockstar of snacks, whipping up small-batch, gourmet goodness that’s like a party in your mouth. With flavors that dance from sweet to savory, it’s a taste adventure in every kernel. Get ready to snack like a boss with Popsmith’s playful and premium popcorn creations! Both of Popsmith’s flavors, Oh Sooo Buttery and Classic Kettle, are both vegan! They even sell an adorable popcorn popper and Movie Night Bundle. Totally in love!
Smude’s popcorn is a flavor sensation known for its unique use of cold-pressed sunflower oil, creating a wholesome and delicious every day snack. This brand takes pride in its non-GMO popcorn kernels and three simply healthy ingredients. With a perfect balance of crispiness and natural goodness, Smude’s popcorn delivers a tasty treat for those seeking a wholesome snack.
Already prepared vegan popcorn is great for grab-and-go, parties, and anytime snacking. These best-selling brands are popular for a good reason! Their flavors are fantastic, though keep in mind that not every flavor is vegan-friendly. We’ve listed the most scrumptious plant-based options below:
Although Trader Joe’s only has this one vegan-friendly bagged popcorn option, it’s still worth noting. It’s inexpensive, yummy, organic, and only has three ingredients: popcorn, olive oil, and sea salt. If you’re in TJ’s snack aisle, make sure to grab a bag (or two!) for an anytime, savory snack option.
Angie’s Boom Chicka Pop popcorn is known for its popular flavors and commitment to using non-GMO popcorn. The brand delivers a satisfying and crunchy snack experience. Vegan-friendly flavors include Sweet & Salty Kettle Corn and Salted Maple Kettle Corn.
This delicious popcorn brand is a natural delight, known for its commitment to organic farming and sustainable practices. Grown without synthetic pesticides or fertilizers, their non-GMO popcorn kernels result in a clean and wholesome snacking experience. Husk Organic offers a guilt-free and flavorful popcorn option for those who appreciate the goodness of organic ingredients. Choose from unique Pink Himalayan Salt, Kale and Broccoli, and Cayenne and Ginger flavors.
The superhero of guilt-free vegan snacking, Lesser Evil is rocking organic and non-GMO ingredients like capes. With flavors that are like a party for your taste buds and none of the fake stuff, it’s popcorn that’s seriously good and seriously good for you. It’s hard to choose between flavors like Chocolate Candy Candy, Homer’s Blend, Himalayan Pink Salt, White Chocolate and Matcha, White Cheddar, Avocado-licious, Fiery Hot, Oh My Ghee, Himalayan Gold, Himalayan Sweetness, Pumpkin Spice, and Celebration!
The sweet snack rebel! All the taste, none of the allergens. It’s popcorn that plays by its own rules – safe, fair, and totally irresistible! With mouthwatering flavors such as Strawberry Shortcake, Birthday Cake, Dark Chocolaty, Honeycrisp Apple Pie, Key Lime Pie, and Wedding Cake, you could serve any of these as an after-dinner dessert! Non-GMO, gluten-free, kosher, and absolutely awesome!
This popcorn brand is a great choice if you love a light and airy snack with simple and natural ingredients. Made with just popcorn, sunflower oil, and a sprinkle of salt, it’s a minimalist’s dream. Skinny Pop offers a guilt-free and delicious popcorn experience without compromising on flavor. Skinny Pop sells White Cheddar, Sea Salt & Pepper, Kettle Corn, Twist of Lime, and Organic flavors.
If you’re a die-hard popcorn fan, there’s nothing better than finding new vegan popcorn seasonings to up the ante. Whether it’s in a powder, liquid, or spray, you can always have your own way with your favorite flavor enhancers. Pro-Tip: Spray your popcorn with a plant-based oil, vinegar, or even water before sprinkling on your seasonings for more staying power!
Some flavors (but not all) of SkinnyPop popcorn are vegan. The vegan-friendly options to look out for are Original, Dairy-Free White Cheddar, Sea Salt & Pepper, and Sweet & Salty Kettle.
Sometimes. Movie theater concession areas that use a plant-based oil (such as canola, olive, coconut, or vegetable) instead of animal-based butter are vegan-friendly. A number of theaters also use margarine, which is usually accidentally vegan. Your best bet is to double-check the website or ask an associate at the concession stand before buying.
Yes! Popcorn in its natural state (without any butter) is simply corn. It’s the toppings that are put on the finished popcorn that are sometimes not vegan-friendly.
Tabitha Brown’s popcorn at Target was a limited release, and we are very hopeful that they will bring it back one day!
When it comes to un-popped kernels, there are endless brands to choose from both in stores and online. Here are a list of the most popular, tried-and-true brands. If you look closely at each one, you’ll discover that there are at least a few different varieties to choose from, including white, yellow, red, and blue!